lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Crap. It's Cold, and It's Catholic

Christ, it's cold here. I know a lot of you are rolling your eyes and saying "Wah!" right now, but come on. I don't live in the Great White Tundra of Minnesota, and for crying out loud-- until two weeks ago, this was one of St. Louis's balmiest winters on record. Not shorts-outside balmy, but you know, no extra winter gear (i.e., scarves, hats, gloves) was required. Now, though? We are so getting paid back.

Today I went outside to get the mail, and since I'm mouth-breathing in a most attractive way due to a cold, my saliva started freezing on my teeth. Sex-AY! When the heat comes on in my house, it feels warm for the duration of the output, then the second the heater shuts off, we plunge back into negative temperatures. Since the heater doesn't come right back on, I have to assume that this is just my perception of the temperature, but I don't know. Can science explain everything?

We have this new archbishop here in St. Louis, and since we're like, the third most Catholic city in the country, this is big news. He is a total wave-maker. He will not serve Communion to any Catholic legislators who vote pro-choice or in favor of the death penalty or euthanasia. This is so laughable to me because one, it's not his business. I'm not Catholic, and I don't believe in God, but I mean, isn't that between the person and the God they believe in? If Joe Schmoe comes walking in and he voted pro-choice in the last election, the archbishop doesn't know that! And besides, legislators are not supposed to vote what they want to vote; they are supposed to vote the voice of their constituents (ha ha ha). So I don't care if you have Roman McCatholic in office, if he's all "abortion sucks," but the people in his constituency are like, "no, abortion is necessary," he should vote pro-choice. I mean, I know that's not how it works in real life, but ideally, that's what should happen. Oi.

Also, his name is Raymond Burke. I kept being like, "Like Perry Mason?" until someone said, "Not Raymond Burr, ass, Burke." Ohhh.

8:07 PM - 30 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess