lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Miss Independent

Fourth of July... Sweet sweet Fourth of July, marking one month since school had been let out. How I love you.

When I was little, you marked my cousin Stan's announcement that he had not, in fact, brushed his teeth in one month.

You were the only day of the year we got deviled eggs, probably because I ate so many that I pooped yellow.

You are the holiday for sparklers, and pops, and the worst "firecracker" ever made, the...snake.

I know two years ago I got drunk on the beer they were giving out at your parade. I'm sorry; it was hot.

Remember how I used to beg my parents to stay at my aunt's until the fireworks?

Remember how every year I got scared of the fireworks and hid under my dad's lawn chair?

Remember how my dad used to yell?

Yeah, me too.

You are crappy middle school bands and scary clowns.

You are approximately 7 billion people crammed into the Arch grounds to watch fireworks.

You are impromptu water balloon fights.

You are the reason that St. Louis's two biggest exports are toasted ravioli and death.

You remind me that no matter what crackpot is in office, I do love my country.

Welcome back. It's good to see you again.

P.S. Lay off the fireworks in my neighborhood this year, will ya? They make my dog nervous. Thanks.

11:19 AM - 04 July 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess