lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is That Your Ego In Your Pocket, Or Are You Just Happy To See Yourself?

One of my favorite shows used to be Interior Motives on The Discovery Channel, starring Christopher Lowell. When I was away at college, everyone gathered in my dorm room to watch it, followed by Days of Our Lives. Christopher Lowell was a really funny guy who did cheesy openings to the show every day, and got the audience involved. He featured letters from viewers, and helped people find inexpensive ways to make their homes look professionally decorated.

Then I quit school and came home, and fell out of touch with good ol' Christopher Lowell. I've had occasion to see his revamped show recently, and let me tell you: Friend's got himself a case of the Love-Myselfs.

First of all, the name of the show is now The Christopher Lowell Show. Well aren't you fancy? Should we just start calling you "Christopher," like "Roseanne" or "Cher"? I wouldn't go putting my name on this piece of crap if I were you, pal. Not at all.

Then, in place of the silly little ouvertures he used to do with wigs and wacky accents, he now does a stand-up comedy routine. Someone needs to let this character know that most stand-up comics aren't funny, and that trying to do stand-up when you're bad is like a dog taking a crap on stage. Not funny, and almost everyone tries to look away.

Now Christopher also has a theme for each show based around one inane comment, like "If you can dress yourself in the morning, you can decorate a room," or "pants go on with the zipper in the front," which he then proceeds to use mercilessly. The phrase of the day will begin and end every single thing he says during the show, until my eardrums pop.

Also, for some reason, Christopher cares only about rich people now. Screw us poor folks, the ones who actually watch his show. He apparently doesn't know that rich people have fancy cable with eleven different channels of HBO, and they don't have time for his bourgeois little show. But dammit, he tries, with his $400/yard fabrics and upscale boutique field trips.

It all makes me want to yell "YOU ARE ON BASIC CABLE. BUILD YOURSELF A CHIFFON LADDER AND GET OVER YOURSELF." But I know he can't hear me over the uncomfortable laughs he's getting during his comedy act.

12:01 AM - 29 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess