lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ghost in the Machine

My printer woke me up today by making a noise. I thought it was haunted until I saw that the microwave and oven clocks were flashing 12:00, so I suppose there was a power outage. This doesn't really have anything to do with this entry, but I thought it was a good opportunity to use the title.

At any rate, D.S. and I went to the zoo yesterday to meet some penguins. Mike Macek, to whom I have an undying debt of gratitude, and whom I would repay with sexual favors if that pleased him, met us in the Living World and took us on an "employees only" path through a gate and in a secret building. He opened up the dorm room of two PR Magellanic penguins, whose names, for the life of me, I cannot remember (I would make the world's worst journalist), and they came waddling out. We were allowed to hold our hands out to them and let them sniff us like they were dogs, and they like shiny things so they enjoyed my toenails quite a bit. One of them even stepped on them.

The penguins freaked me out a little bit, though I don't know why. I tried to put on my best smile and coo approvingly around Mike, him being hot and all, but any time one of the penguins got too terribly close to me, I said "OH ho ho...heh heh..." and backed away quickly. D.S., however, said that he touched the back of one, and that it was wet and cold, which is, I guess, to be expected.

Despite my apprehension, it was a very cool and rare experience, and I feel fortunate to have had the chance to touch a penguin. Now, onto polar bears. I wonder who I have to write about that...

2:05 PM - 27 June 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess