lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Comparative History of Training Br@s (Short Form)

My sister and I were at Wal-Mart a couple of weeks ago with my niece, Francie, who is nine. We were in the girls' department, looking at clothes, when we spotted a display of M@ry Kate and @shley matching training br@ and p@nty sets. (The br@s are training, not the p@nties.) We all cooed and exclaimed over how cute they are, and Francie declared that she wanted some for her birthday, which is coming up in about two weeks. After consulting with Mamatoo to make sure that, in fact, Francie was of the age a young lady is allowed to wear a br@, I dragged my mom back to Wal-Mart with me tonight, during a break in the inclement winter weather.

Dude, there was a whole wall of these:

In varying styles and colors.

I sighed to my mom that I wished I had had a cool aunt to buy stuff like that for me at that age, and then it occurred to me: Br@s like that didn't even exist back in the '80s. Our choices back then were either "bow" or "bow-free."

When did this happen? When did ten-year-old girls start getting to cavort around in brightly-colored "lingerie?" Whenever it was, it was at least twenty years too late. I would have given my left arm for adorable matching sets like this! No, no. Instead my generation got this:

That is my first strapless br@, folks, and I do not even exaggerate. It was created to make my burgeoning ten-year-old sproutlings look like just another fat roll. It never supported, it never felt good, and I spent more time tugging at it than I did deciding to wear it that morning ("Hmm...should I go with white, white with bow, white strapless without bow, or beige?").

I don't care what you say about M@ry Kate and @shley. Those girls have ushered in a new era of puberty, one where being the girl in the br@ is not a source of shame. One where you willingly pull your collar to the side in the girls' room, showing your friends your shocking pink br@ strap. God bless those two girls and the money-br@s they're probably wearing.

12:47 AM - 27 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess