lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shoes to Write Home About

I will never be Carrie Bradshaw. In St. Louis, spending $400 on shoes is not a matter to be laughed at or scolded for. If I ever did such a thing, my family would happily call the men in white coats with butterfly nets and have me hauled away.

That said, I now know what it's all about. After years of watching SATC and wondering, "Why the hell would anyone willingly wear shoes that uncomfortable just to look cute?" I finally know. I bought the outfit, which was cute. But the outfit was just an outfit until I found... the shoes. I only paid $30 for them, but I had a sudden and fleeting glimpse into the mind of a woman who would pay $400 for a couple of scraps of leather and a teetering heel. I mean, these shoes caused me to not only shave my legs (which I sort of had to do for the skirt anyway), but run out and buy self-tanner, which I slathered all over my legs and feet. I painted my toenails.

I looked foxxy. Not just regular foxy, foxxy with two x's. Without the shoes, I would have kind of looked schlumpy, like a girl with a cute outfit and okay shoes. But the shoes transform. It turns out that Liz Phair was right when she said on I Love the '80s that as long as your shoes are sexy, you'll be okay. I didn't believe her then. I had no reason to believe anything Liz Phair said. But now I know she speaks the truth. The sexy shoes are key.

I keep trying to find a pic online of the shoes, but I can't, so as soon as I get some batteries for my digicam I'll post one. Because you want to know what they look like.

11:05 PM - 30 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess