lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome to the Flip Side

My mother and sister were trapped in Detroit today when my sister had a mental breakdown of unknown severity. It depends on who you talk to. Bottom line: She couldn't drive home, and my mom doesn't drive highway, so my brother-in-law had to fly to Detroit and then drive them back home.

They stopped in Indianapolis for the night.

This whole rigamarole required that I go into my boss's office, ask her if she has a moment, close the door, sit down, and launch into a Brief History of Western Civilization. Because I just had a feeling that "I may not be here tomorrow, no reason, please and thank you" wouldn't fly. So I explained it all as concisely as I could and told her that I might have to babysit tomorrow, which turned out not to be the case but I wanted to give her ample warning in case that's the way things went. I don't know the woman well at all but I have a feeling she's the kind of person who needs all sorts of advanced warning and she did in fact, through a falsely cheerful and supportive face, ask if I would know before I left today. Which I did, as I told her I would.

Blah.

Blah blah blah.

I love my sister. But this happens every so often and this is the first time I've been on the drugs when it happened, and I can tell the difference. This is so stressful, but this time I'm all proactive and organizational, whereas normally I toss myself about with the back of my hand to my forehead moaning "Why meeeeeee?" I have to admit, though, it's tiresome having to orchestrate everyone because my sister refuses to adjust her medication when it's not particularly effective.

Blah.

Blah blah blah.

11:15 PM - 02 August 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess