lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meet Me at the Muny! The Muny in Forest Park!

How do I know it's officially spring? Because tonight I saw the first commercial for the Muny, an outdoor theater here in St. Louis. Every summer, for seven or eight weeks, there are Broadway musicals there. Every year I get really excited, because I want to see some of the shows, like Meet Me in St. Louis and 42nd Street this year.

Then I remember that the Muny, while well-meaning, is possibly the worst idea ever conceived in musical theater, aside, of course, from Starlight Express. I mean, after June 1, the temperature here rarely ventures below 80 degrees, even at night, so an outdoor theater isn't the most comfortable situation. They have two giant, lazy fans that stir the wet air, but all that does is make you stare at the fans longingly. They turn them off after the show starts anyway, so the only people they're really a benefit to are the poor souls (it's been me many a summer) who wait in the back of the theater for the free seats.

As far as a free night out in the summer is concerned, I suppose it beats flogging a dead camel in the backyard (no having to run out and actually find a camel), but all in all, I'd rather stay home and watch the movie versions of the plays.

Sidenote: There is this totally trashy place here called Dirt Cheap Beer and Cigarettes, and the commercials feature this guy named Fred and someone dressed as a chicken. The chicken stands around flapping its wings yelling "Cheap cheap! Fun fun!" I went to Target last night and saw that one of their little Easter slogans is "Cheap cheap." I wonder how Fred feels about that.

10:41 PM - 29 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess