lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Untitled Poems 3 and 4

This a two-part entry into the Crap Poems file. I wrote the first one when I spent my junior year reading nothing but Edgar Allan Poe and writing papers on his work, and I wrote the second one when the first one leaked out to the teachers and they all thought it was so cute.

The English language has been around for a thousand years or so,
And I've decided that by the time I've finished this paper on Poe,
I will have aged a million years and exhausted every word,
Except of course the verb "to be," which cannot possibly be heard.

"Ligeia" and "The Raven," "The Purloined Letter," and "The Cask,"
"The Fall of the House of Usher," and ultimately, "The Masque."
Don't you dare take these works literally for they are allegories.
Unity-separation-unity is present in all of Poe's stories.

Everyone represents Logic, Intuition, Cosmic Thought, or Mortality,
With a capital L, I, CT, M, and P for Physicality.
Madeline and Roderick have sex? What's that all about?
I don't know, but reading Poe, I'm sure I'll never find out.

********

When you write a poem sarcastically
And no one understands,
It really can get rather nasty,
And can end up quite sad.

Poets bear the weight of this,
The pen our only means
Of communication and
Conveying private dreams.

Poets can't scream from the page,
Cannot yell and shout,
When, in horror, we realize that
No one knows what a poem's about.

So silence shrounds unspoken words
And keeps the poet mute.
Remember this when you write sarcastically,
And someone calls it cute.

8:47 PM - 05 July 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess