lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've Got an Abortion Pen, and I'm Not Afraid to Use It!

I went to the mailbox today, and in with all the magazines (Cosmo, yay! I love you, BT!) and ads and bills, there was a small box. The short end faced me, and read "Petition Enclosed." There are people in the world who think I'm politically active and/or rich, and they often ask for my time and/or money. I usually give neither.

After dumping the rest of the mail I picked up the petition box. It was from NARAL. It had a petition inside, along with a little silver medallion thingie that I think you're supposed to give to people (at Jesusland, we used to sell similar ones that said "Jesus Loves You," and I hated those, too), and a pen. I got an abortion pen in the mail.

My mom came home from work and glanced at the mail before going back out. "Where'd you get the pen?"

"From the abortion people."

"Oh, that's nice."

"No, mom. The pro-abortion people." It felt weird saying it, as I prefer the term "pro-choice," but when you get down to brass tacks, it really is "pro-abortion" and "anti-abortion," isn't it? "They want me to sign a petition."

"Well, you can't do that," she answered, her tone dismissive.

"Sure I can, if I want to."

"No, you can't."

"Yes, I can!"

"Your father would roll over in his grave!"

"Oh, puhlease!" I stopped myself before admitting that he had probably been in a constant spin since his death over things I'd done; I didn't want to reveal too much.

"You never would have been born!"

I lifted an eyebrow, surprised. "You were going to have an abortion?"

"No. But what if I believed in it?"

I laughed. "Just because you believe in offering safe abortions doesn't mean you have to have one. I can't believe you're even surprised!"

"You just do this to get a reaction out of me." And with that, she left to go to dinner.

The world's shortest abortion argument.

I took the abortion pen and crossed Unforgiven off the movie list later, as I watched it last night. I still don't know whether to sign the petition or not.

8:49 PM - 21 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess