lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Birthday, Dr. King

Yeah, so like, thirty seconds after my Gephardt comment, I heard he's dropping out of the race. On one hand I'm like, "Dye your damn eyebrows," and then on the other hand, I'm like, "Dude's like, 'Fuck it,' and that's refreshing."

How sad is it that the house I was sitting didn't have cable, and the only MLK thing I found was on PBS? He's a major figure in American history, we get off school and work because of everything he did, and people can't be bothered to air a one-hour biography? Jesus, folks.

I was watching the show on the edge of hysteria. I don't know if it was the footage I saw coupled with the emotion of being so close to a funeral, but the thought of how badly our country has treated, and continues to treat, black people just got to me all of a sudden and I had to really struggle to keep the tears from pouring down my face. Normally I would have just cried, but I didn't want to be all tear-streaked when the mourners came home; it would have been disrespectful.

At any rate, Happy Dr. King's Birthday, all. Hopefully strides will continue to be made.

11:56 PM - 19 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess