lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funerals and Sassy Blonde Brows

Right now I'm housesitting for a friend of my sister's whose husband died Friday. Apparently crooks check out the obits and make a point to stop at the houses of the recently deceased since no one will be home. Ha, we fooled them.

What a horrible time for this woman and her two girls. They are ages thirteen and ten, and as hard as it was losing my dad at fifteen, I can't imagine it having happened two years earlier. It never gets easier but I think as people grow older they accumulate the emotional armor that eases the pain a little.

The woman who had the "shift" before me filled me in on the behavior of the oldest daughter, who came downstairs in a nice outfit for the funeral parlor, with a hoodie. She apparently made some snide comment about the hoodie, and the daughter huffed and stomped back upstairs.

What the hell did this woman expect? Jesus Christ Superstar! Way to stick your damn nose in an already potentially explosive situation.

Bah. Anyway...how odd would it be to have Dick Gephardt and his weird blonde eyebrows as a president? I don't know if I told you guys this before, but one time he was posing for a photo for the newspaper at an ADA benefit, and he was holding an unlit torch. Not only did I accidentally walk into the shot, but I told him, "Um, do you know that torch isn't lit?"

To his credit, he laughed and said, "Uh, yeah." He could have been a real dick about it.

8:36 PM - 19 January 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess