lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But You Also Get Some Sun

First of all, hurrah for Bill and winning The Apprentice. I would have been equally happy for Kwame. This is the first time my not caring wasn't out of complete apathy. I really would have been happy either way.

Second of all, I've been watching Cosby Show and Roseanne repeats on Nick at Nite lately, and for the last couple of weeks, it's been the really bad last season of Roseanne (for the record, I think they should have saved the lyrics to the theme song for the final episode only). I kept watching it because it's fascinatingly awful, and also, I wanted to see the last episode.

I know it's kind of cheesy, but the finale made me cry, and it kind of made up for the crappy last season. Roseanne was on forever. It was for the most part, one of the best sitcoms ever made. It was sharp and clever, and funny and real, and even the "very special" episodes didn't feel ersatz. I knew that the finale was going to present the entire final season as a figment of Roseanne's imagination, as a book she had written, but it went further than that and sort of presented the entire show as such. I think that went probably one step too far, and that it required us to see characters we knew and loved for so many years in a completely different light. For some reason, the final episode was really thought-provoking to me.

Jesus, I'm getting all misty about Roseanne! Someone drop a bottle of Jack by.

12:31 AM - 16 April 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess