lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, I Can't Go Back in Time and Change My Karma?

You know that saying, "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is?" Here's a new one for you to try on for size: "If the job sounds too good to be true, you will most certainly not get it."

I went today for what I can only describe as a preliminary interview for a job I am in no way qualified for. What possessed me to say "Excel? Oh, I'm a whiz at Excel!"

Here's a list of the demons that jumped into my head:

  • Three weeks of paid vacation per year to start.
  • 401(k) with matching at 3%
  • Full medical,
  • Dental,
  • and vision
  • for less than $50 a month.
  • The possibility of moving to any one of 155 cities
  • In 35 countries
  • On four different continents
  • Including Asia.
  • Like, if I decided to, I could be like, "Okay, I'm moving to Hong Kong. Adios!"
  • Well, not "Adios." Clearly I know as much about Chinese as I do Excel.
  • FULL MEDICAL, DENTAL, AND VISION INSURANCE. They deserved yet another bullet because they are so rare.

Congratulations to whoever gets this job, because experience says it won't be me.

And can someone help me learn Excel, like, really quick?

9:19 PM - 12 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess