lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And I Didn't Even Get an \"I Voted\" Sticker

Well, I voted.

Voting in the morning is depressing. At least if you vote after work, you can walk around all day with a feeling of purpose, of optimism.

Today I will make a difference, you can say to yourself. Things might turn out okay, all because of my one little vote. Today I will due my civic duty.

But when you vote in the morning, it's all over too quickly. The weeks of irritating television ads, bothersome flyers exploding out of the mailbox, all the radio commercials, have culiminated in your punching twenty little holes, or pulling a lever fifteen times, or licking an envelope and mailing it off to your state capital.

And all you can do is say to yourself, Self, we did the best we could. We voted right, and all we can do now is hope others voted their consciences.

And God help us all.

11:05 AM - 02 November 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess