lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Ned? Ned Ryerson? Needlenose Ned? Ned the Head?\"

Groundhog Day is one of my favorite movies. It's good, sweet fun, along with romance and a nice little moral. I always thought the scene at Gobbler's Knob was either made up or hokey-fied for Hollywood, but as I found out this morning, it is not. It is taken almost word for word from the pack of top-hatted old men in Punxsutawney, PA (except for this years mention of a "spider hole," as timely as the headlines of two months ago. I would have preferred the guy said, "Phil says, 'I cannot see my shadow, as it is obscured by Janet Jackson's boob.'" Anyway...).

I watched the "coverage" on my local Fox affiliate (home of Glen, and I guess Glen had all sorts of energy left over since we didn't get the promised ice storm, because he was zinging those fellas in Punxsutawney left and right. After they finally announced that there would be six more weeks of winter, Glen "hmph"ed and said, "I coulda told you that in thirty seconds." Oh, Glen, and I have a feeling you'd be more reliable as well. And way cuter than that pelt that they drag out every year.

In a final Groundhog Day note, we in St. Louis have a groundhog as well. Her name is Lily, and she's so mean they can't check to see if she's seen her shadow. Someone donated her to the zoo because she was so mean. That's my kinda groundhog.

7:11 AM - 02 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess