lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Orange... And Palm... Trees Swaay...

It's December 8, and I'm ready to pluck my eyelashes out one by one if I am forced to listen to one more Christmas song.

However, honorable mentions have to be given for three lyrics that never fail to completely crack me up when I hear them. It's all in the delivery, guys.

The first one is in the most wretched of all Christmas songs, "Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer," where they go, "And the bluuuue and silllllver candles...." I die every time I hear it, which, thankfully, isn't often.

Next is Andy Williams's version of "It's the Holiday Season," where he says, "It's the holiday season, so whoop-de-doo." There's this totally uninterested tone in his voice like he really could not give less of a crap about Christmas.

And the last one is "White Christmas," and I have no idea who's singing it, but it's a black woman, and she's sort of complaining about living in L.A. at Christmas time, and there's this little spoken interlude in the middle where she says, "The orange... and palm... trees swaay..."

Anywho, find these songs, even if you are, as I am, completely Christmased out. It's worth the little chuckle you'll get out of them.

11:14 PM - 08 December 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess