lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Slug Turns 400

This is my 400th entry. Yay, me! I'm a big slug who has nothing better to do than write considerably more than one entry a day online!

Forgive me. I feel like such a total sloth today. Consider this: Monday night into Tuesday, I slept from 2 a.m. until 8 a.m. I woke up, voted, came home, and went back to sleep around 10 a.m. At 2 p.m., my alarm went off. I thought I had reset it to ring again at 2:15, but in fact, I changed the time to 2:15, thereby failing to reset the alarm. I woke up two hours later, at what I thought was 4:15. I jumped up, ran into the kitchen, and discovered that it was only 4:00. Whew.

EXCEPT THAT I WAS SUPPOSED TO BE AT WORK AT 4. I called my manager and left a message along these lines: "ThisisSandyIoversleptI'llbethereinahalfhour." I showered in about five minutes, ran out the door, and floored it all the way to the city. I did end up making it to work at 4:35, where I found that I was not the Lateness Centerpiece, as I had feared. In fact, another girl was late, and hadn't called, so when we walked in at the same time, my boss said to her, and not me, "You're late." 'Cause I had already warned her, see? Sometimes a phone call makes all the difference. Except when you have to set up your bar in half the normal time.

So then, somehow at work, I hurt my back. It was really more nagging and annoying than painful, so it wasn't a big deal. After work I went and checked on D.S.'s cat since he's in Florida for the week, then I went to the bar. Where I stayed until 5 a.m. playing Pictionary because I wasn't tired, having slept all day.

I was supposed to clean D.S.'s apartment today, but when I woke up, my entire back was just a solid column of pain. The following are things that cause me pain: bending over; not bending over; breathing; laughing; peeing; driving; lying down; standing up; sitting down; blinking; having a heart rate; and my hair growing. So, ya know, cleaning wasn't really in the cards.

I'm nothing but a shiftless slug.

2:50 PM - 04 February 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess