lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

David Bowie, I Love You!

Based on my newfound method of determining my favorite music artists, that being "Whoever makes me the most money at work is my favorite," David Bowie is now King of My Universe. Tonight I almost doubled my previous best night ever. Not only was it sold out, which most of our concerts are, but these folks was drinkers! People, it appeared, were waiting in line (and I was told more than once that mine was the fastest, thank you very much!), buying drinks, getting back in line and drinking while they waited. I love a show with an opening act no one's ever heard of.

Usually when you work the lobby at a show like this, you make good money, but you don't get "regulars." The regulars usually happen upstairs, where you don't get as many people overall. Tonight I had a bunch of regulars and they were awesome tippers. And they totally dished on the other bartenders.

"We like you so much better than our other bartender! He talked too much!" a couple of women told me. I knew right away they were talking about Henry, our only male bartender. He flirts to make tips, which works well at Broadway shows, but doesn't realize that at concerts, people don't give a shit, they just want their beer. And man, do I get their beer. I'm a beer-gettin' machine.

Another piece of hot bartender gossip: "Oh, she measures her shots!" "We're supposed to." "Our other one didn't, but I guess we'll cut her slack because she had a broken arm." Hm. The bartender with the broken arm is the same one who tried to run me down in the parking lot. What an interesting little bit of information.

Something I've learned the hard way and put into good practice tonight is that when people beg you to put more liquor into their drink, unless they say specifically, "It'll be worth it," or "I'll take care of you," don't do it. Because even if you do, they're the assholes who won't tip. "I'd sure appreciate it" doesn't cut it. These are the guys who already have exact change out and waiting, and I'm not pouring one drop extra unless I see some money.

Even for having done so well, I had so many people stiff me on tips tonight! I'd say a good 10% of my customers didn't tip, which is way higher than average for a concert. Insanity! Oh, well, though. Thanks to the good tippers, I'm sleepin' easy tonight. Humming, "Ch-ch-changes" to myself.

2:04 AM - 12 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess