lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Not About Race, It's About the Level of Holiness

Someone (I don't remember who) at work once became horrified because I made some generalization about the people who come to the gospel shows at my theater. I couldn't figure out why, until I realized that she thought I was being racist. Which I wasn't. Black people who come to concerts or musicals at my theater don't act like the black people who come to the gospel shows. So I guess instead of being racist, I'm religionist. So be it.

At any rate, more often than not, this is the exchange with the gospel-goers:

GG: I'll take a Hennessy and Coke.

ME: We don't serve mixed drinks at gospel shows.

GG: agape, to friend. This is a gospel show?

GG's Friend: All Tyler Perry shows are gospel.

GG: Give me a soda and a bag of M&Ms.

ME: putting a bag of M&Ms on the counter.

GG: Don't you have peanut M&Ms?

ME: Yes.

ME (in my head): But I am not psychic.

ME: What kind of soda do you want?

GG: What kind do you have?

ME (in my head): Look at the menu, asshat.

ME: Cokedietcokespritemisterpibbpinklemonade.

GG: I'll take a Sprite soda.

ME (in my head): A Sprite what? Because everything we sell comes in a Sprite variety, so good thing you specified.

ME: scooping ice into the cup.

GG: affronted LESS ICE THAN THAT! I ONLY WANT THERE PIECES OF ICE! or, if I only put three piece of ice in it, FILL IT UP WITH ICE! DAMN!

ME: obliging.

GG: How much is it for that soda?

ME: Three dollars.

GG: THREE DOLLARS? FOR THAT SODA?

ME: Yes.

GG: Various and assorted cuss words and/or unintelligible mumblings to friends.

ME: That'll be five dollars.

GG: Hands me a hundred-dollar bill, gets his/her change, then walks away without tippng.

ME (in my head): Thanks, punkass.

ME: Enjoy the show!


P.S. Who finished her second manuscript edit and is now ready to give her readers (my mom, two of my sisters, DS, and BT) copies of her book? It's me! It's me!

10:58 PM - 07 March 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess