lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It Just Keeps Getting Better

DS is in the hospital. They had to perform emergency dialysis on him today, which meant instead of putting the hook-up thingy in his arm, as planned (if he had called Medicaid three months ago when he should have like I kept telling him but deathbed time isn't the time to nag, so I'll shut up), they had to PUT IT IN HIS NECK.

And apparently because his renal failure is so complete and absolute, he had no platelets in his blood. I didn't know that could even happen. But it does, and now his blood won't clot, and he's been bleeding from his neck all day. At first he didn't know it because they had him all numbed up, and a nurse came in and got a horrible horrified look on her face and that's how he found out what had happened. Nice, huh?

So they were supposed to pump him full of platelets during dialysis but I don't know what happened. He was still bleeding when I last talked to him and they had called the Red Cross for platelets and the nurse was on her way to bring them to him.

I.

AM.

FREAKING.

OUT.

First of all: Blood freaks me out. Not menstrual blood, because I mean, come on; if that freaks you out and you're a girl, good luck. I mean real blood. Blood from your veins, not from your crotch. You know what I mean. Anyway, I came the closest I've ever come to passing out tonight when he described how the guy giving him dialysis PULLED A BLOOD CLOT OUT OF HIS NECK (which BT pointed out didn't make sense, since his blood apparently can't clot...? I don't know, I'm not a doctor), and said IT WOULD CATCH A BIG CATFISH. Seriously, I was like, Okay, asshole, give me a second here. I'm glad you feel well enough to make me want to vomit.

I don't remember freaking out about blood when I was little, and it probably has a lot do do with how my dad died, so even despite that fucking disgusting comment (nice bedside manner), I'm freaking out.

I'm sure it also has quite a bit to do with the fact that Deadsoon can't keep bleeding forever without becoming Deadnow. I'm on the call list at the hospital, and I hate it. I don't know what I'll do if he dies. I just don't know what I'll do.

9:50 PM - 10 August 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess