lobsterchick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Feel Like a... Kinda Like a...

It's weird, having girlfriends.

I mean, I have BT. But she and I both tend to leave the house as little as possible, but save for Tuesday nights, when she has to work and I'm contractually obligated to show up at the bar, we rarely see each other. We have an elaborate e-mail affair going on that DS doesn't much like, though.

Dina and Colleen are from work, and save for the fact that I didn't go out with them until I'd been working at my job for 8 months, it's been an almost instant bonding thing. We went out last night (and saw Mean Girls again. I mean, it's a good movie, but I think there are deep psychological underpinnings there), and after the movie, we went to Applebee's. Shut up. It was close. Anyway, it was raining like insanity, and on the walk to Applebee's, I looked down.

There was a hot dog on the sidewalk. Just lying there.

So I said, "There's a hot dog on the sidewalk."

And even though it was raining, the three of us stopped for a split second, looked at it, started laughing, and resumed walking. When we got to the bar, we kind of shook ourselves off a little like dogs (oh come on; it's Applebee's! You don't have to be classy there!), and Dina said, "I feel like a hot dog on the sidewalk."

And that is how "hot dog on the sidewalk" became the funniest phrase in the English language.

11:45 PM - 14 May 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

trasker
madamepierce
swingerdiary
pipersplace
heidiann
mnvnjnsn
dragprincess